Body Pump

Early to bed, early to rise… a.m pump will tone my thighs…

I got up early this morning (06.15) to go to a Body Pump class. Have you heard of Body Pump? It’s  a Les Mills class, more info can be found here. I love it, although I find some aspects ridiculously hard. In particular triceps push ups and weighted lunges. More on that another time.

I was supposed to meet Kaia at the gym, but she was still snoozing this morning. Marco also said he would get up early and go swimming while I pumped, but alas, he continued snoozing.

I’m giving myself a well deserved pat on the back for making it, as the ‘Lisa of Old’ would have just said, ‘oh well,’ and climbed back into bed for morning spooning. The best spooning in the world 😉

There are lots of people who believe that Morning Exercise is the better than exercising at other times of the day.

Benefits of Morning Exercise:

  • It’s done and dusted – the rest of the day is yours
  • You are tired earlier, resulting in a better night sleep
  • You arrive at work HAPPY, REFRESHED and MOTIVATED
  • Your metabolism speeds up, continuing to burn more calories throughout the day
  • It encourages you to eat more healthily. (If you manage to avoid the cooked breakfast treat!)

It’s weird how sometimes you feel like you’ve earned a wee treat… must stop gorging on food after I’ve done something… but it’s so hard. Ah, the joys of being a grubber!

Anyhoo, back to Body Pump. This morning we worked on lunges and shoulders instead of biceps and triceps. Sigh!!

body pump equipmentHere are the weights I used (each side of the bar):

Warm up – 2.5kg

Squats – 4.5kg

Chest – 3.5kg

Back – 4.5kg

Lunges – 3.5kg

Shoulders – 1kg for kick backs and presses, 3.5kg on the bar for 12 overhead presses.

Last week was my first week back at Body Pump for ages.

I feel like I should add, although so far this blog has mostly been about NEW stuff that I’m doing, I havent just jumped straight in. I have occassionally been going to Body Attack, Body Combat and Yoga classes, as well as *occassionally* doing the 30 Day Shred classes.

Whats different this time, is that I’m creating a ROUTINE. That I’m going to stick to.

whole food saladI finished this lovely whole foods salad from M&S. I’ve never tried it before, but as it was reduced to £3, I thought why not?

It was amazing!

I would definitely buy it again and there are so many different ingredients in it that I think it would cost more to prepare it at home yourself.

I’m not just lazy… 😉

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Body Pump and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Body Pump

  1. Right now, Missy M…that salad looks a lot more appealing than the weights/bar bells….
    Well done for you!!!!!!!!!!!
    PS…Thank you so much for the follow. I enjoy your site, as well.

  2. Brava! And good for you! Thank you for the “Like” and I like your site as well. And I will drop in regularly now, to cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

