Swimming lesson 2

I had my second swimming lesson last night.

I had my second bout of cramp while at my swimming lesson  last night.

Do you want to know where I went wrong? Firstly, I went running straight after work. It was our short day (1 mile) so I thought I’d be ok. Secondly, I arrived at the swimming pool about 40 minutes early and then spent half an hour dipping in and out of the sauna. Again, I thought I’d be ok.

Too much, too soon.

On point 1:  my muscles must have been fatigued from the run – (I’m still a novice)

On point 2:  muscles need sodium to function properly and I must have lost a LOT of salt in the sauna.

I was quite disappointed at getting cramp as it definitely did have an effect on my performance. I was unable to swim more than two lengths before I could feel the niggle coming back. This meant I was doing my 2 lengths with the instructor, and when he was working on someone else I spent the time with my feet against the wall trying to stretch out my calves and hamstrings. Also, there was a lot of calf rubbing and foot bending going on. Without the cramp this time could have been used doing more lengths and PRACTISING what I had just been told.

Despite the cramp it was still a (semi) successful lesson. I noticed a definite improvement on my technique. The first half hour was spent focusing on the breast stroke, and during the second half I worked on the front crawl. It appears that I’m better at the front crawl than the breast stroke, mostly because of my (lack-of-effective) frog kick.

That makes sense, as it’s when I concentrated on flexing my feet that I started to experience cramp. And once it was there I was unable to fully stretch it out.

One step at a time quoteI discovered a new thing today, a new fact about stretching.

Ideally when you stretch you should hold it for 15 – 30 seconds until the muscles starts to relax IN the stretch.

I didn’t know this. I love the feeling of a good stretch, but seemingly I’ve been coming out of them a bit prematurely, before any good is actually being done.

 

It’s all a learning curve for me, and my new fact is a good fact that I’m sure will benefit me!

Before swimming next week, I will:

  • Not go running
  • Not go in the sauna
  • Warm up slowly in the pool
  • Stretch effectively using the new technique above
  • Make sure I’m effectively hydrated
  • Eat well, with the aim of increasing patassium, calcium and magnesium levels. These are good nutrients for effective muscles.
About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Swimming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

