Running Day 6

There are no constraints on the human mind, no walls around the human spirit, no barriers to our progress except those we ourselves erect.

– Ronald Reagan

Last night we had a wonderfully great run. We ran most of our route, and only had to walk twice. The walking segments were smaller that usual too…

Why, I do believe we are getting better!

Me in running gear after a runAfter our short run I went to my local gym and took part in a Body Attack class. I had been going to Body Attack at least once a week before I started my swimming lessons, but this was my first session in over 4 weeks.

 Body Attack is a great class. There is no denying its tough, but in a good way. I definitely feel that during Body Attack I push myself further than I do in any other activity.

I guess that’s the joys of group exercise – you don’t want to quit!

The most negative thing I have to say about Body Attack is the number of dynamic lunges expected during tracks. I only work at Level 1 doing an alternative exercise and don’t actually do them. Not because I find them hard on my muscles that you are supposed to (quads, hamstrings and glutes), but because I have skinny ankles and I have a fear that they are going to snap. 

I have no problems doing a Forward Lunge, but in this class that’s not what we are being asked to do, we are supposed to jump and lunge. You can see what I mean on this video.. http://w3.lesmills.com/global/en/classes/bodyattack/learn-the-moves/ . The move is 3 mins 40 seconds into the Sports Conditioning video.

The instructor last night motivated us by saying, “Come on Body Attackers, we started this together and we’ll finish together!” 

On of my favourite Body Attack ‘Instructor Quotes’ is from an instructor who is super fit (in fact she looks a bit scary), who shouts “Body Attttaaaacckkkkkkkkkkkkk” really loudly. If you are at the front, this has an impact! It always makes me smile, and I love realising that my face is smiling and not contorted and twisted in some crazy work out face! 

All of the instructors at my local gym bring something unique to the class. My favourite instructor is the morning Body Pump guy, Tony. He makes me want to be good! His best quote is , “Stay Strong!” and that is by far the best thing you can say to me to keep me motivated during a work out. 

It is amazing to think how far a little bit of encouragement goes 🙂

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

