Swimming Lesson Number 4

I had my final swimming lesson last night.

I can swim! If you know any adults who can *kind of* swim please encourage them to take a block of adult lessons. It is amazing how some small pointers on technique can make a BIG difference!

In my case, I could get from A to B, but it looked horrendous and took way more effort in the wrong places than it should. Rather than using a good swimming technique to move through the water, I was relying on strength and ploughing my way through. I looked uncomfortable, unrelaxed and incredibly undignified.

I’m not saying that now I’m the worlds best swimmer, but I have learned  how to execute the strokes properly, which in turn helps me relax more in the water. I know the areas that I need to work on more for maximum effect, and I will enjoy practising.

Swimming for fitness

Now that I’m a better swimmer, I feel confident that I can incorporate a swimming workout into my routine. Why would I want to?

Swimming is good for your:

  • Core Strength and stability
  • Hips
  • Arms
  • Shoulders
  • Glutes

Basically: It’s a good all-rounder!

Swimming is a good form of exercise that alleviates pressure on your joints while still giving you a full work out, both cardio and toning. I’m happy to add this in to my weekly workout as it is a welcome break from running.

I’m going to try Swimming Drills. Not sure what yet, but something like:

– 2 x warm up lengths

– 4 x Breast Stroke

– 4 x Front Crawl

– 2  x frog kick with flotation aid and no arms

– 1 x 1 arm front crawl with flotation aid

– 1 x other arm front crawl with flotation aid

– 4 x breast stroke

– 4 x front crawl

And after that a well deserved 15 minutes in the SAUNA! It wont be long before I can up the ante and increase the number of lengths.

Serenity

After my lesson last week I highlighted how I have to consciously think to bring all of the elements of swimming together. Last night I completed a few lengths of breast stroke and it all came together nicely.

My breathing was in synch, it was all working.

I really enjoyed it. I felt serene, and enjoyed being in the water. It was *almost* like meditating for a few moments.

AND… I didnt get cramp once!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Swimming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swimming Lesson Number 4

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Swimming can be such a great workout and wonderful for those times one is rehabbing from injuries. Unfortunately, I look like a flailing fish in the water. It’s good to here from an adult who’s tackled the exercise and made improvements in form.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

