Asserting my goals

Goals.

It is important to have at least one goal to aim for, otherwise we stumble and can often lose our way. I don’t want to lose sight of my overall ambition;

To get fit and live a healthy and active lifestyle.

The activities I do to fill my week are definitely changing and I have incorporated lots of different sports into my life that are for the greater good of ME. I don’t REALLY have a routine though, nor have I set any short-term goals.

I have had a think about exercise goals and have summed up my immediate aspirations.

  • Run at least 2 days per week
  • Exercise at least 5 days out of 7 (running included)
  • Run the Jingle Bells 5k fun run on the 2nd December 2012
  • Run a 10k race in 2013 (yet to find one… will keep you posted!)
  • Eat more healthily as standard

There is a local ‘fun run’ on the 2nd December, called the Jingle Bells Fun Run. I’m going to take part in that this year, meaning that next year I can focus on something more challenging (the 10k). I’m not going to lie here – a 5k is quite a big deal for me!

I have signed up to a website: www.parkrun.org.uk where you can take part in timed weekly 5k’s for free. I have yet to go, but I intend to take part in the next  few weeks and see how I fair. Hopefully I’ll be able to make that my weekend ‘long run’, so that when I take part in the local fun run, I actually do well!

I didn’t go swimming at all last week and totally missed it. So tonight, I swim. And I look forward to it.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running, Swimming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Asserting my goals

  1. Alex says:

    Hi LT (I suppose that’s how we should call you?)!
    I just wanted to say this is a nice post. However, one thing bothers me: while most of your goals are ok, in most organizations we use the “SMART” criteria to set goals, meaning that the goals should be specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and timely.
    I’m just trying to say that you could think about “run a 5k in 2012” or “run a 5k by march 2013” and being more specific about “eat more healthily”
    Just trying to help with a piece of advice. Anyway, good luck! I’ll be cheering for you.
    (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMART_criteria)

    • misselletea says:

      Hi Alex,

      Thank you for your feedback – you are so right! Not setting SMART objectives is almost as bad as the post subject matter itself – meandering along with no specific direction. I’m ashamed to say that I work in marketing; I should know better!

      I’ll have a look about for a suitable 10k near the start of next year and revise that one. As for ‘Eating More Healthily’, I’m really struggling to be more specific with this. I do generally eat quite well, but alas, I’m a sucker for eating out with my partner (he’s a big skinny malinky who is lean and fit by default).

      A lot of my frinds have different dietary requirements, one follows the Paleo Diet and completely omits grains and processed foods, while another avoids wheat. One avoids eating carbs after 6pm. They have made these decisions based on the needs of their body and have all felt some physical side effect like bloatedness or something else to spur them into make these choices. I dont have any tell tale signs that I’m aware of that would require me to completely change my eating habits…maybe I could trial the no carbs after 6pm rule for a while meaning that if I dine out after 6 I HAVE to have a salad!

      Thank you loads for your feedback, if you have any more suggestions I’d love to hear them. I think you are doing great!

      Cheers,

      LT 🙂

      (My name is Lisa, but most of my friends and family call me LT. I love it!)

      • Alex says:

        Hm, if most of your friends and family call LT, who am I to contradict them?

        I’m pretty sure you know better than me. The small knowledge I have on this matter is from trying to make non-governamental organizations, well, organized.

        Those friends are terrible. How can they do that? Hahaahaha I have a friend like this too…
        When I started with the “eating more healthily” I was eating lots and lot of hamburgers. I decided that decreasing that number would be a good improvement, but a full stop wouldn’t be easy, so one day I would be allowed to eat, and if I did it any other days than this, I would have to make “trades”, like having tangerines for dinner.
        It worked (still works) for me. Some friends, however, said that they were in such a vicious cycle that they had to make that full stop just to “shake things up a bit”…

        Hahaha I find the no carbs after 6pm very difficult, as there’s no possibility of having something before that. Maybe that’s the intention?
        Hm… just try something. Anything. And tell us how it’s going!

        You’re welcome! I’m just relieved that you are ok with it – some people are not.

        (:

Leave a Reply

