Work out faces

Why does pulling a funny, twisted, contorted face help us when we work out? Does it help by sharing tension or focusing exertion, or is it just us conveying pain and stress?

I think face pulling helps me work out. I don’t intentionally pull faces, but last night at body pump I made a conscious effort to NOT PULL A FACE, as I was right at the front. I normally love being right at the front, but at my local gym it would appear that they have introduced a new system where the instructor has a ‘buddy’ who sits on the stage for the WHOLE class and does absolutely nothing, except from change the music tracks between workouts. The rest of the time is spent looking at us all huffing, puffing and struggling away! This was W-E-I-R-D. I’m fairly sure he didn’t spend the whole class looking at me, but it sure did feel like it.

I particularly struggled doing the Lunge track, there is no way I can last the distance without outwardly conveying the pain in my muscles. Despite my best efforts to remain ‘composed’ … I had to do it. I had to get my exercise face out!

Do you have an exercise face?

I don’t think I do when I’m running or doing other cardio work like Body Attack. My face during these times probably just looks like someone who is breathing hard. When weight training (doing pump) I exhale during the exertion phase and inhale during the release, but the release is still controlled and therefore still ‘active’…. so I’m not sure when exactly during my workouts I look my best. Or worst.

Ooft! I think from now on I’ll choose a spot nearer the back.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Work out faces

  1. Sarah C says:

    I used to work with a trainer who used to refer to it as “the mean face.” Apparently I look mean when I’m working hard. But whatever gets you through it, right?

  2. Michelle says:

    What about the timba face? What’s that all about? Especially Shaun’s timba face, but everyone does it, and they’re all kind of similar – pull your mouth up to the side for the higher notes 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      Ha.. true! I’ll need to find a picture of Shauns timba face for reference! All of Kings of Macumba pulled funny faces.. and stared at some imaginary thing in the sky!

  3. I not only have a workout face…but I also have workout language…which I do not use anywhere else…hahaha…be encouraged!

    • misselletea says:

      Be encouraged.. what a great valediction! (I had to Google what the opposite of Salutation was there).
      I can imagine what your workout language sounds like 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, and thank you for your encouragement. I need it!!

      Lisa 🙂

      • I used the workout language once when Susie and I had first started to date (we met in the gym) and she just froze…it took me a moment to figure out what the issue was…I had slipped into it as naturally as taking my next breath…this long string of never ending words all creatively grouped around the street euphemism for sexual relationships had caused my little Susie to turn into a pillar of salt…took considerable discussion to explain and promise that away…it’s never happened again…except for the time the bat invaded in our home, but that’s a completely different story…oh, yeah their was another time…when the snake crawled into our living room…but those are the only other times…I promise.

        Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

