I fell off the wagon.

I’m ashamed to admit it, I feel off the ‘Get fit and healthy’ wagon.

I’m not entirely sure what happened, I booked a wad of gym classes and cancelled every single one of them just before I was supposed to leave to go to the gym. Not cool on many levels, I only hope that the gym classes weren’t full. I did cancel them, but not with very much notice as I lied to myself right up to the very last-minute that I was going to go.

What happened? WHAT HAPPENED!!??

Truth be told, I’m not sure. I lost my mo jo, and subsequently had no motivation to get it back. I blamed the change in seasons, and ate junk food. I moped about the house being semi-crafty and watched TV. I did manage to go swimming once last week – my saving grace!

One of my friends had arranged to come round to mine on Sunday so we could go running while our partners played tennis. This petrified me! The friend in question, Natasha, has run 2 marathons. I tried to put it off and suggest we go swimming (you pretty much go your own way in the pool) but she was having none of it.

Despite the worrying, the run went well. In fact, it was great! Natasha hasn’t been running much this year, so she wasnt miles ahead of me. We ran 2.5 miles over 25 minutes – without stopping. I’ve never run that far without stopping (slowing to a walk) and I’m so surprised that I was able to do it.

We ran at a fairly reasonable pace, slow enough that we could still talk, but fast enough to say that yes, we were running. I was given a lot of advice on form, and training advice for future reference.

The biggest thing I learned was to not be too hard on myself for falling off the wagon. Get back up and on it.

What a good way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I enjoyed the run, and I cleared away the make believe cobwebs of excuses that I had been hiding behind for the past couple of weeks.

Operation Beat the Belly is back on!!

Have you had any times like that, when you just cant be bothered but don’t know why? I need to make sure that when I feel like that I push myself to go and do something… anything… as I wont regret it afterwards.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Running, Swimming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I fell off the wagon.

  1. John says:

    It happens, you have to get back on the horse again and you’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

