Baby steps and treadmills

Today is a GOOD day, I’m feeling quite pleased with myself. There are a number of different reasons for this, and I’ll be honest the first one has nothing to do with exercise – it’s because I feel OK – all effects from the weekend have subsided. I drank wayyyy too much rum on Saturday/Sunday and was good for nothing on Monday. I spent all day lazing about reflecting on life and the things I could do be more wholesome, and generally feeling a bit guilty about my party antics. The party itself was good though; peaks and troughs?

All is not lost, as I went to the gym on Friday night, something that I havent done on a Friday for ages. I tried out a treadmill, and fair enjoyed it. Afterwards I rewarded myself with a mammoth spa session in the new spa… it has 2 lightly heated aroma rooms, a chinese salt bath steam room and a sauna. Swoooon.

I joined the spa reluctantly as in principle I don’t agree with the fact that our local council run fitness facility should outsource this element, make it a “5 Star experience” and then expect gym members to pay extra every month for it. Especially as they are slowly closing the facilities in neighbouring localities that have a sauna with the pool. Grrrr. The thing with me is – I panicked! I am incredibly fickle, and my morals were swept aside as I heard it was half price for the first 300 gym members who join. This made me join quick smart as I’d hate to regret it later. I DO love a good sauna, and the added frills make it worth it. (Worth it at half price though, definitely not for the monthly charge they are requesting from non members). Another advantage is that it is 5 minutes from my house, and in the same venue as a lot of the classes that I go to. Including the gym, with the treadmill.

Last night I plucked up the courage to go to the gym by myself and ran 3k in 22 minutes. I wasnt aiming for a PB time, I was looking to see if I could run 3k without stopping as the Jingle Bells Fun Run is this Sunday! Turns out that it is only 3k and not 5, but hey ho…. I still think its exciting, and I’m looking forward to taking part. Complete with santa hat!

My running legsI had quick use of the spa facilities after the run and then took part in the yoga/tai/chi pilates class.

Tonight I’m going for the Attack/Combat combo, and tomorrow morning I WILL get up early and go to Body Combat at 7.

I’m going to finish the week with a run on Friday, and then rest before the ‘Big Day’ He he. I know that a 3k isn’t a big deal to seasoned runners, but to me it is quite a big deal. There will be other runners! I think there will be a really good vibe, and while a baby run, baby steps are still steps!

I hope you are all having a good humping day.

LT 🙂

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby steps and treadmills

  1. misselletea says:

    I didnt get up for combat this morning. I knew straight after the Combat class last night that I wouldn’t as my body was aching. Ina good way, but I didnt want to stress it out even more!

Leave a Reply

